The 35th Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Award Winners

The Eisaku Sato Essay Contest is an international competition that was established in memory of the late Eisaku Sato, former Prime Minister of Japan, with the monetary award that he received with his 1974 Nobel Peace Prize. The contest was inaugurated in 1980, and has been held annually since 1990.

Announcement of the 35th Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Award Winners

We would like to announce the winners of the 35th Eisaku Sato Essay Contest. The theme was ”As global warming continues to be on the rise, abnormal weather and devastating natural disasters are occuring in many places in the world. What kind of actions should be taken by the international community and us to cope with these developments? Discuss this issue together with universal trend of heavy reliance on fossil fuel.” and 18 essays (2 in Japanese, 16 in English) were applied. The judgement committee was held on October. The award of Brilliance ¥ 200,000 with testimonial and The award of effort ¥ 50,000 each with testimonial.

35th Eisaku Sato Essay Award Winners
Award of Brilliance
Hiroaki Matsuyama
(53・Office worker)
Read more
Award of Effort
Chiden Balmes
(32・Senior Policy Officer)
Read more
Award of Effort
Ian Karusigarira
(35・Doctoral Student at Tokyo University of Foreign Studies)
Read more
Archive of Eisaku Sato Essay