The 28th Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Award Winners

The Eisaku Sato Essay Contest is an international competition that was established in memory of the late Eisaku Sato, former Prime Minister of Japan, with the monetary award that he received with his 1974 Nobel Peace Prize. The contest was inaugurated in 1980, and has been held annually since 1990.

Announcement of the 28th Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Award Winners

The 28th Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Award Winners were announced in July. Mr. Mark Flanigan, International Christian University, Rotary World Peace Fellow was awarded the First Place “Award of Excellence”. Ms. Tomomi Sato, Ministry of Defence and Mr. Hiroto Sawada, Keio University Student were awarded the Third Place “Award of Effort”. The theme of the contest was “In a situation where a devastating natural disaster has occurred, and people remain apprehensive about a possible reoccurrence, prompt measures and efforts for prevention as well as restoration are indispensable. What are the role and potential efforts of the United Nations in such a case?” The Award Ceremony was held on 17 July 2012 at the United Nations University.

28th Eisaku Sato Essay Award Winners
Award of Excellence
Mark Flanigan
(42・Rotary International World Peace Fellow, Int’l Christian University)
Award of Effort
Tomomi Sato
(48・Ministry of Defense, Administrative Vice-Minister of Defense)
Award of Effort
Hiroto Sawada
(21・Keio University, Bachelor of Arts in Policy Management)
Archive of Eisaku Sato Essay