The 31st Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Award Winners

The Eisaku Sato Essay Contest is an international competition that was established in memory of the late Eisaku Sato, former Prime Minister of Japan, with the monetary award that he received with his 1974 Nobel Peace Prize. The contest was inaugurated in 1980, and has been held annually since 1990.

Announcement of the 31st Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Award Winners

We would like to announce the winners of the 31st Eisaku Sato Essay Contest. The theme was ”Describe the current relationship between the USA and China with reference to their respective responsibilities and roles in international society. Discuss how the United Nations could work with these two superpowers in order to tackle global issues more effectively.” and 101 essays (20 in Japanese, 81 in English) were applied. The judgement committee was held on September 11. The award of Excellence will receive ¥ 500,000 with testimonial, the second award ¥ 200,000 and the third ¥ 50,000 each with testimonial.

31st Eisaku Sato Essay Award Winners
Award of Excellence
K.A. Sandunika Hasangani
(25・Tokyo University of Foreign Studies- Graduate School of Global Studies (Reading for Master of Arts in Peace and Conflict Studies))
Read more
Award of Brilliance
Takashi Okabe
(38・Senior Manager, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu LLC)
Read more
Award of Effort
Hirotaka Suzuki
(30・Graduate of Graduate School of International Relations, University of Shizuoka)
Read more
Award of Effort
Arpan Dahal
(23・University of Texas at Arlington)
Read more
Archive of Eisaku Sato Essay